Political Science
On this page you will find OER specific to political science that include e-books, lectures, videos, tutorials and other supplemental materials for use in your classroom or for independent learning.
Lectures, Tutorials, and Online Courses
Political Science Courses (MIT OpenCourseWare)
Browse over 100 open courses from MIT's Political Science Department.
Introduction to Western Political Thought (Saylor)
"In this course,we examine major texts in Western political thought, where authors pose difficult questions about the political community, social order, and human nature. How do our views about human nature and history inform government design? We explore how Plato, Machiavelli, and Rousseau, responded and how these philosophers contributed to the broader conversation about human needs, goods, justice, democracy, and the ever-changing relationship between the citizen and the state."
Supplemental Materials
The World Factbook (CIA)
The CIA provides maps, flags, and facts about every country in the world. The Factbook is in the public domain because it is produced by a U.S. Government agency.
Other Useful Resources
This project contributes to tribal organizations' work in resisting the construction of the Dakota Access Pipeline and is explored through readings, articles, and follows a set of teachings from Indigenous scholars and activists looking through a historical, political, and economical scholarly lens. This syllabus can be a tool to access research usually kept behind paywalls, or a resource package for those unfamiliar with Indigenous histories and politics.
Standing Rock Syllabus NYC Teach In (YouTube)
In the videos at Teach In at Columbia on the Standing Rock Syllabus you will see how you can start to teach the different sections of the #StandingRockSyllabus, or how they can help ground discussions of Standing Rock and resistance to the Dakota Access Pipeline.
OER Repositories
Search these OER repositories to find more resources!
- BCcampus OpenEdBCcampus OpenEd offers numerous open textbooks, along with resources on how to adopt open textbooks for a course, and adapt textbooks for courses.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of open access books. The growing directory includes thousands of academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from over 300 publishers.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Search over 20,000,000 items, including images, text, narratives, videos, etc. across thousands of libraries and archives worldwide.
- MERLOTThe MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching) collection is provided by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning and consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and content builder webpages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
- MIT OpenCourseWareFree, open, online lectures and class syllabi offered virtually through the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- North Carolina Learning Object RepositoryThe mission of the NCLOR is to provide a centralized location for the acquisition, collection, sharing, and management of quality learning resources for all teachers in North Carolina. Educators can search by keyword or browse by facets such as discipline, grade level, and resource type.
- OER CommonsDiscover, create, and connect with OER using OER Commons. Search by keyword or browse subject areas, grade levels, material types, and collections for OER.
- OpenLearnSearch over 1,000 free courses, interactive content, video and more; use OpenLearn to watch and learn about the world around you, browse subjects to explore new topics, study free courses, improve skills for employment, explore TV, radio, or online programs.
- OpenStaxProvides free online (and low cost to print) professional, peer reviewed textbooks along with supplemental materials.
- OPEN SUNY TextbooksThe State University of New York publishes high-quality OER by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
- Open Yale CoursesFree, open online lectures and class syllabi offered through virtual recordings through Yale University.
License
The resources used in this guide are released under Creative Commons Licenses.
This guide was adapted by Sarah Guy from the UNCG Guide "Open Educational Resources" by Beth Bernhardt.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.