Economics
On this page you will find OER specific to economics that include ebooks, lectures, videos, tutorials and other supplemental materials for use in your classroom or for independent learning, as well as other useful resources.
Ebooks
Principles of Macroeconomics 2e (OpenStax)
"Principles of Macroeconomics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters."
Priniciples of Microeconomics 2e (OpenStax)
"Principles of Microeconomics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory microeconomics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters."
Supplemental Materials
OENC Hub Business Group (OER Commons)
The OENC Hub maintains a group for ancillary materials for business classes, including Principles of Macroeconomics and Principles of Microeconomics.
Other Useful Resources
This website associates short clips from the Seinfield show with economic concepts. Each uploaded video includes an explanation of an economic concept and how it is played out in the episode. The authors have also created an index of economic terms which are linked to the appropriate episode(s).
Data in the News (Teaching with Data)
A repository of tools and educational materials designed to improve quantitative literacy skills in social science courses. Built especially for faculty teaching post-secondary courses in such areas as demography, economics, geography, political science, social psychology, and sociology, the materials include stand-alone learning activities, tools, and pedagogy services.
OER Repositories
Search these OER repositories to find more resources!
- BCcampus OpenEdBCcampus OpenEd offers numerous open textbooks, along with resources on how to adopt open textbooks for a course, and adapt textbooks for courses.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of open access books. The growing directory includes thousands of academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from over 300 publishers.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Search over 20,000,000 items, including images, text, narratives, videos, etc. across thousands of libraries and archives worldwide.
- MERLOTThe MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching) collection is provided by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning and consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and content builder webpages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
- MIT OpenCourseWareFree, open, online lectures and class syllabi offered virtually through the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- North Carolina Learning Object RepositoryThe mission of the NCLOR is to provide a centralized location for the acquisition, collection, sharing, and management of quality learning resources for all teachers in North Carolina. Educators can search by keyword or browse by facets such as discipline, grade level, and resource type.
- OER CommonsDiscover, create, and connect with OER using OER Commons. Search by keyword or browse subject areas, grade levels, material types, and collections for OER.
- OpenLearnSearch over 1,000 free courses, interactive content, video and more; use OpenLearn to watch and learn about the world around you, browse subjects to explore new topics, study free courses, improve skills for employment, explore TV, radio, or online programs.
- OpenStaxProvides free online (and low cost to print) professional, peer reviewed textbooks along with supplemental materials.
- OPEN SUNY TextbooksThe State University of New York publishes high-quality OER by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
- Open Yale CoursesFree, open online lectures and class syllabi offered through virtual recordings through Yale University.
License
The resources used in this guide are released under Creative Commons Licenses.
This guide was adapted by Sarah Guy from the UNCG Guide "Open Educational Resources" by Beth Bernhardt.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.