English
On this page you will find OER specific to English that include ebooks, lectures, videos, tutorials and other supplemental materials for use in your classroom or for independent learning, plus other useful resources.
Ebooks
The Open Anthology of Earlier American Literature (Pressbooks)
Authored by Dr. Robin DeRosa and current undergraduate students and alum, this book discusses literary texts and ethnographic histories of the early American era, from Native American and indigenous historical literature to Mark Twain and Walt Whitman.
Literature, the Humanities, and Humanity (Open SUNY Textbooks)
"Literature, the Humanities, and Humanity attempts to make the study of literature more than simply another school subject that students have to take. At a time when all subjects seem to be valued only for their testability, this book tries to show the value of reading and studying literature, even earlier literature. It shows students, some of whom will themselves become teachers, that literature actually has something to say to them."
The Process of Research Writing (Eastern Michigan University)
This fist-year writing textbook takes a different approach to teaching research writing, treating writing as a process rather than a product.
Lectures, Tutorials, and Online Courses
American Passages: A Literary Survey (Annenberg Learner)
"American Passages: A Literary Survey is a 16-part American literature course. The video programs, print guides, and Web site place literary movements and authors within the context of history and culture. The course takes an expanded view of American literary movements, bringing in a diversity of voices and tracing the continuity among them."
Supplemental Materials
Online Poetry Classroom (Academy of American Poets)
Poets.org provides a wealth of content on poems and poetry, emphasizing but not limited to contemporary American poets. Its materials for teachers include lesson plans and essays on teaching poetry.
Open Access Companion to the Canterbury Tales
"The Open Access Companion to the Canterbury Tales (OACCT) is a volume of introductory chapters for first-time, university-level readers of Geoffrey Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales. The chapters have been created and edited by professional scholars of Chaucer, and all material is released open access and free of charge for classroom, scholarly, and personal use."
OENC Hub Arts & Humanities Group (OER Commons)
The OENC Hub group for Arts & Humanities contains ancillary materials for classes including Argument-Based Research and Expository Writing.
Other Useful Resources
Invitation to World Literature (Annenberg Learning)
This multimedia site from Annenberg Learning provides introductory videos, reading selections, slide shows, and various other resources (including audio glossaries and lists of reliable translations) to enrich the reading of 13 selected works from various times and cultures.
OER Repositories
Search these OER repositories to find more resources!
- BCcampus OpenEdBCcampus OpenEd offers numerous open textbooks, along with resources on how to adopt open textbooks for a course, and adapt textbooks for courses.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of open access books. The growing directory includes thousands of academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from over 300 publishers.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Search over 20,000,000 items, including images, text, narratives, videos, etc. across thousands of libraries and archives worldwide.
- MERLOTThe MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching) collection is provided by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning and consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and content builder webpages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
- MIT OpenCourseWareFree, open, online lectures and class syllabi offered virtually through the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- North Carolina Learning Object RepositoryThe mission of the NCLOR is to provide a centralized location for the acquisition, collection, sharing, and management of quality learning resources for all teachers in North Carolina. Educators can search by keyword or browse by facets such as discipline, grade level, and resource type.
- OER CommonsDiscover, create, and connect with OER using OER Commons. Search by keyword or browse subject areas, grade levels, material types, and collections for OER.
- OpenLearnSearch over 1,000 free courses, interactive content, video and more; use OpenLearn to watch and learn about the world around you, browse subjects to explore new topics, study free courses, improve skills for employment, explore TV, radio, or online programs.
- OpenStaxProvides free online (and low cost to print) professional, peer reviewed textbooks along with supplemental materials.
- OPEN SUNY TextbooksThe State University of New York publishes high-quality OER by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
- Open Yale CoursesFree, open online lectures and class syllabi offered through virtual recordings through Yale University.
License
The resources used in this guide are released under Creative Commons Licenses.
This guide was adapted by Sarah Guy from the UNCG Guide "Open Educational Resources" by Beth Bernhardt.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.