Music
On this page you will find OER specific to music that include ebooks, lectures, videos, tutorials and other supplemental materials for use in your classroom or for independent learning, as well as other useful resources.
Ebooks
Music Appreciation (OpenStax)
This book is an open text from OpenStax CNX by Ronda Neugebauer exploring the study of rhythm, musical meter and tempo, harmony, melody, and exploring periods of music, including Renassiance, Baroque, Classic, and Romantic.
Music and the Child (Open SUNY)
"This book explores a holistic, artistic, and integrated approach to understanding the developmental connections between music and children. This book guides professionals to work through music, harnessing the processes that underlie music learning, and outlining developmentally appropriate methods to understand the role of music in children’s lives through play, games, creativity, and movement."
Open Music Theory (Hybrid Pedagogy Publishing)
This text is an interactive online resource for college level music theory classes, which introduces the inverted (or "flipped") music theory, and supports active student engagement with music in the classroom ("somewhere in between prosy lecture notes and reference material, with minimal graphical or audio examples").
Lectures, Tutorials, and Online Courses
Music and Theater Arts (MIT OpenCourseWare)
Find online MIT courses in music and theater arts including syllabi, lectures, and reading materials.
Other Useful Resources
A non-profit focused on increasing access to music by creating free resources and educational materials, Musopen provides sheet music and recordings from different genres and eras of music. The recordings are under various licenses, mostly Creative Commons.
OER Repositories
Search these OER repositories to find more resources!
- BCcampus OpenEdBCcampus OpenEd offers numerous open textbooks, along with resources on how to adopt open textbooks for a course, and adapt textbooks for courses.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of open access books. The growing directory includes thousands of academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from over 300 publishers.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Search over 20,000,000 items, including images, text, narratives, videos, etc. across thousands of libraries and archives worldwide.
- MERLOTThe MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching) collection is provided by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning and consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and content builder webpages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
- MIT OpenCourseWareFree, open, online lectures and class syllabi offered virtually through the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- North Carolina Learning Object RepositoryThe mission of the NCLOR is to provide a centralized location for the acquisition, collection, sharing, and management of quality learning resources for all teachers in North Carolina. Educators can search by keyword or browse by facets such as discipline, grade level, and resource type.
- OER CommonsDiscover, create, and connect with OER using OER Commons. Search by keyword or browse subject areas, grade levels, material types, and collections for OER.
- OpenLearnSearch over 1,000 free courses, interactive content, video and more; use OpenLearn to watch and learn about the world around you, browse subjects to explore new topics, study free courses, improve skills for employment, explore TV, radio, or online programs.
- OpenStaxProvides free online (and low cost to print) professional, peer reviewed textbooks along with supplemental materials.
- OPEN SUNY TextbooksThe State University of New York publishes high-quality OER by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
- Open Yale CoursesFree, open online lectures and class syllabi offered through virtual recordings through Yale University.
License
The resources used in this guide are released under Creative Commons Licenses.
This guide was adapted by Sarah Guy from the UNCG Guide "Open Educational Resources" by Beth Bernhardt.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.