African American Studies
On this page you will find OER related to African American studies that include ebooks, lectures, videos, tutorials and other supplemental materials for use in your classroom or for independent learning.
Ebooks
Rhetoric and Resistance in Black Women’s Autobiography
This literature textbook by Johnnie M. Stover focuses on traditionally underrepresented voices in American literature, specifically those of African American females. By studying autobiographies of black women, students will learn not only about the conventions of autobiography, but also how those conventions were transformed by African American female writers.
Lectures, Tutorials, and Online Courses
Black Matters: Introduction to Black Studies (MIT OpenCourseWare)
"Interdisciplinary survey of people of African descent that draws on the overlapping approaches of history, literature, anthropology, legal studies, media studies, performance, linguistics, and creative writing. This course connects the experiences of African-Americans and of other American minorities, focusing on social, political, and cultural histories, and on linguistic patterns."
After Slavery: Race, Labor and Politics in the Post-Emancipation Carolinas (Lowcountry Digital History Initiative)
This online exhibition and educator resource series focuses on the complex history of emancipation and the period of Reconstruction that followed the American Civil War. This resource showcases a rich collection of source materials organized for high school and college classroom use.
Introduction to Theory of Literature (Open Yale Courses)
In lecture 21 of this course, Professor Paul Fry gives an overview of African American literary criticism, primarily by looking at the work of Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Toni Morrison.
Race, Politics, and American Media (YouTube)
At the 2009 MIT Communications Forum, journalist Juan Williams interviewed Professor Philip Thompson on American journalism and how it has influenced and interacted with race and politics in America.
OER Repositories
Search these OER repositories to find more resources!
- BCcampus OpenEdBCcampus OpenEd offers numerous open textbooks, along with resources on how to adopt open textbooks for a course, and adapt textbooks for courses.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of open access books. The growing directory includes thousands of academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from over 300 publishers.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Search over 20,000,000 items, including images, text, narratives, videos, etc. across thousands of libraries and archives worldwide.
- MERLOTThe MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching) collection is provided by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning and consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and content builder webpages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
- MIT OpenCourseWareFree, open, online lectures and class syllabi offered virtually through the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- North Carolina Learning Object RepositoryThe mission of the NCLOR is to provide a centralized location for the acquisition, collection, sharing, and management of quality learning resources for all teachers in North Carolina. Educators can search by keyword or browse by facets such as discipline, grade level, and resource type.
- OER CommonsDiscover, create, and connect with OER using OER Commons. Search by keyword or browse subject areas, grade levels, material types, and collections for OER.
- OpenLearnSearch over 1,000 free courses, interactive content, video and more; use OpenLearn to watch and learn about the world around you, browse subjects to explore new topics, study free courses, improve skills for employment, explore TV, radio, or online programs.
- OpenStaxProvides free online (and low cost to print) professional, peer reviewed textbooks along with supplemental materials.
- OPEN SUNY TextbooksThe State University of New York publishes high-quality OER by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
- Open Yale CoursesFree, open online lectures and class syllabi offered through virtual recordings through Yale University.
License
The resources used in this guide are released under Creative Commons Licenses.
This guide was adapted by Sarah Guy from the UNCG Guide "Open Educational Resources" by Beth Bernhardt.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.